Morris Kaplan


As Interviewed by Alex Cohan, March 11, 2013
"Growing up there, I sort of accepted that as this is just the way things were."
Morris Kaplan

Introductory Profile: About Morris Kaplan

I interviewed Morris Kaplan. He is 71 years old, married, and lives in Houston, Texas. He was in South Africa during part of Apartheid. Even though he did not experience social injustice directly, he saw it and knew of it around him. One of the things that stood out to me during the interview is when he talks about his experiences when he went back later in his life from when he was a child.

Morris stands at a few inches over five feet, with tan skin and a calm demeanor. He was born in Kimberley, South Africa in 1942 at the beginning of Apartheid. In 1965, he left South Africa for college in the UK. He got a Ph.D in chemistry, then moved to Houston, Texas. He got married and had a daughter. He got divorced, married, then divorced again a couple of times before finding the right woman. They are now living very happily in Austin, Texas, and they have been for a few years.

The interview in general was very calm and relaxed. We were sitting on my couch in the living room. During the interview, he was blissfully drinking coffee and tending to a very intrusive dog. He plays tennis a few times a week and had just come from a game.

Living in South Africa during Apartheid is not something everyone can say they did. What he said was very unique and interesting. I am happy with the interview and my interviewee was great as well.